seven sacraments

The Seven Sacraments

The life of Saint James Parish revolves around the celebration of the sacraments. The Second Vatican Council describes the Sacrament of the Holy Eucharist as the
“source and summit of the Christian Life.” (Lumen Gentium 11).The other sacraments are oriented toward the Sacrament of the Eucharist.
“For in the blessed Eucharist is contained the whole spiritual good of the Church, namely Christ himself, our Pasch.”
(Presbyterorum ordinis 5).

Each of the sacraments also gives a special grace if we receive them with the right dispositions. Therefore, the people of Saint James Parish are encouraged to frequently receive the Sacrament of Confession in order that they might be well disposed to receive the other sacraments in a state of grace.

The traditional Baltimore Catechism tells us that
“a sacrament is an outward sign instituted by Christ to impart grace.”There are seven sacraments:

  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Holy Eucharist
  • Penance (Confession)
  • Extreme Unction (Anointing of the Sick)
  • Holy Matrimony
  • Holy Orders

Traditionally, the Church speaks about the Sacraments of the Living and the Sacraments of the Dead. Baptism and Penance are called sacraments of the dead because their chief purpose is to give the supernatural life of sanctifying grace to souls spiritually dead through sin. Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony are called sacraments of the living because their chief purpose is to give more grace to souls already spiritually alive through sanctifying grace. He who knowingly receives a sacrament of the living in mortal sin commits a mortal sin of sacrilege, because he treats a sacred thing with grave irreverence.
(1 Corinthians 11:27)

The articles that are provided in this section come from the Catholic Encyclopedia, originally published in the early 20th century and provide an in depth look at each of the Seven Sacraments and the scriptural and theological teachings behind each.